Skip to product information
1 of 1

The Burden of Power

The Burden of Power

Regular price $18.99
Regular price $18.99 Sale price $18.99
Sale Sold out
Shipping calculated at checkout.
Style

Buy from Other Retailers:

Buy from Other Retailers:

View full details

Description

Description

A beloved senator. An unspeakable crime. A new face for the prosecution. Welcome to the trial of the century.

In the heart of Blake County, an unprecedented legal storm is brewing. A long-time US senator, Bill Collins, is at the epicenter of this maelstrom. A man of power and influence, he now stands indicted, accused of an unthinkable crime—conspiring in the region's most recent unsolved murders.

Enter Maggie Reynolds: a top-notch trial lawyer, famous for handling high-profile criminal defense cases. In a surprise twist, she crosses the aisle to stand on an unfamiliar side of the courtroom. Tapped as a special prosecutor, Maggie finds herself leading the State's case against the senator, an assignment that carries as much scrutiny as it does prestige.

Maggie knows the stakes are high as she builds out her trial strategy. The task is formidable; the history of several well-known families weaves a complex and thick web. Yet, despite the heavy smoke around the senator’s deeds, she seeks more. She needs solid, irrefutable evidence to convince her jury. Evidence she finds on the eve of trial, in an unexpected place that will leave readers breathless.

Joe Cargile's riveting Blake County Legal Thrillers are perfect for fans of John Grisham and Michael Connelly.

_________________

What readers are saying:

★★★★★ "...intense..."
★★★★★ "...fast-moving."
★★★★★ "I love the series!"
★★★★★ "...numerous twists..."
★★★★★ "...in-depth characters..."